First Amendment Foundation Awards

First Amendment Foundation Awards

Celebrating Transparency, Free Expression, and Civic Heroism!

Start Date

Jun. 15, 2024


02:00 pm


FSU Law School Rotunda
308 S. M.L.K. Blvd.,
Tallahassee Florida 32301



Learn More

Enjoy an afternoon of connection and celebration over cocktails and hors d’oeuvres as we honor those who stand on the frontlines of ensuring our rights are defended and revered.

Honoring Champions of Transparency and Free Speech:

The Lucy Morgan Award for Open Government Reporting: Named after the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, this award is bestowed upon a Florida journalist whose exemplary use of public records strengthens the public interest by exposing corruption and government conflicts.

The Pete Weitzel/Friend of the First Amendment Award: In honor of our Foundation’s founder, we celebrate an individual—journalist, official, or citizen—who has made significant contributions to fostering the principles outlined in our Bill of Rights and Florida’s constitution.

The James C. Adkins/Sunshine Litigation Award: Paying tribute to Justice Adkins’ legacy, this accolade is reserved for those remarkable efforts that have profoundly advanced open government and free speech through legal avenues.

In a time when the defense of our freedoms has never been under greater threat, the First Amendment Foundation serves as a bastion of nonpartisanship to unite all Floridians in common cause.

Please, join us! Not only to applaud the achievements of our honorees but to engage with fellow attendees who are passionate about making a difference in our society. Come, be a part of this essential dialogue, and help us continue to illuminate the path toward open government and free expression.


Stay up to date with all things Tallahassee when you sign up for our newsletters.

Visit Tallahassee Newsletter